Posted by: Stephen Paul | August 1, 2014

Now I am at rest mountains are mountains again

Before I had studied Zen for thirty years,<br />
I saw mountains as mountains, and waters as waters.</p>
<p>When I arrived at a more intimate knowledge,<br />
I came to the point where I saw<br />
that mountains are not mountains, and waters are not waters.</p>
<p>But now that I have got its very substance I am at rest.</p>
<p>For it's just that I see<br />
mountains once again as mountains,<br />
and waters once again as waters.</p>
<p>~ Seigen Ishin
 

Before I had studied Zen for thirty years,
I saw mountains as mountains, and waters as waters.

When I arrived at a more intimate knowledge,
I came to the point where I saw
that mountains are not mountains, and waters are not waters.

But now that I have got its very substance I am at rest.

For it’s just that I see
mountains once again as mountains,
and waters once again as waters.

Seigen Ishin

Leave a Reply

Categories

